Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay automatically qualify

The intercontinental form is clearly valid for the technical criteria until its final adoption at the end of 2024, the tournament will therefore start with six automatically qualified teams out of the 48 participating selections, an unprecedented proportion.

Fifa does not mention the direct ticket for the three official candidates for the competition, Morocco, Spain and Portugal, but it is also clear that the three selections from South America are also profitable.


With the passage from 32 to 48 selections, as part of the 2026 World Cup organized by universities, Canada and Mexico, « three of the six places » allocated in the South America zone, but no prizes yet. Added to this is a last contested ticket at the intercontinental dam, a detail from a spokesperson for the body.

Triple world champion, the Argentinian competed in the final phase of the world in 1974, and Uruguay has been in every edition since 2010. Paraguay, on the other hand, has missed the last three World Cups, and the last participation dates back in 2010 (quarter-finalist).